

American Society of Access Professionals ASAP Award Recipients

Special Award: Lifetime Achievement Award

In honor of his career in improving the Freedom of Information Act and its implementation across the federal government; contributions as an advocate for open government; and as an inspiring mentor.



2022 Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Senator – Vermont (1975 - 2023)

President's Award for Distinguished Public Service

is the highest honor that the Society can grant, recognizing distinguished and sustained contributions in furtherance of the public interest within respect to access, privacy and fair information laws, policies and practices.



2016 Catrina M. Pavlik-Keenan Assistant Director, Immigration & Customs Enforcement, Freedom Information Act Office US Department of Homeland Security



2015 William T. Kammer Chief, Freedom of Information Division (Ret.) Executive Services Directorate US Department of Defense



2013 Miriam M. Nisbet Director, Office of Government Information Services National Archives and Records Administration



2012 Charlene Wright Thomas Senior Advisor for Privacy Policy Global Information Services US Department of State



2010 Rebecca Daugherty Journalist



2008 Doris M. Lama Privacy Act Officer US Department of the Navy

Richard L. Huff



2006 Daniel J. Metcalfe Co-Director, Office of Information & Privacy US Department of Justice

Co-Director, Office of Information & Privacy



US Department of Justice

2005



1984 Carl C. Coleman Deputy Director, Freedom of Information/Privacy Act Division US Department of Health and Human Services

Directors' Award for Superior Public Service

is the second highest honor that the Society can grant recognizing unusual excellence and special benefit to the public with respect to access, privacy and fair information laws, policies and practices, or superior contribution to the Society itself.



2013 Public Interest Declassification Board

Martin Faga accepts award on behalf of PIDB members

- Nancy Soderberg, (Chair), appointed by the President
- Martin Faga, appointed by the President
- William H. Leary, appointed by the President
- Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker, appointed by the President
- David Skaggs, appointed by the Speaker of the House
- William Studeman, appointed by the Minority Leader of the House
- Sanford Ungar, appointed by the Majority Leader of the Senate



2012 Office of Information Policy US Department of Justice Director Melanie Pustay (right) and Chief of Staff Carmen Mallon accept award on behalf of the OIP



2009 Marilyn Falksen Recently retired as Chief of the Initial Request Staff Office of Information and Privacy US Department of Justice



2005 Rosario Cirrincione Director, Freedom of Information & Privacy Acts Division Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs US Department of Health and Human Services

Meritorious Achievement Award

is granted to a limited number of persons for services or achievement that contribute significantly to the purposes of the Society and recognizes sustained or extraordinary special service or achievement deserving high recognition.



2016 Alexis R. Graves, Esq. FOIA Officer US Department of Agriculture



- 2016 Privacy Compliance Assurance (PCA) Team US Department of Veterans Affairs
 - Jodi Casanova, Compliance Specialist
 - Gregory Foley, Lead Compliance Specialist
 - Melissa Gordon, Lead Compliance Specialist
 - Denise Hamilton, Lead Compliance Specialist
 - Hedda Hizer, Compliance Specialist
 - Michelle Hughes-Levack, Compliance Specialist
 - Chad Lewis, Lead Compliance Specialist
 - David McDaniel, Privacy Compliance Assurance Officer
 - Elaine O'Brien, Compliance Specialist
 - Jeanine Marino, Compliance Specialist
 - Richard Reid, Lead Compliance Specialist
 - Yvette Sanders, Compliance Specialist



- Eric Neuschaefer 2015
 - Senior Government Specialist, Privacy Office
 - US Department of Homeland Security

	2015	Michael Norman Application Administrator US Department of Homeland Security
	1988	Catherine C. McMillan Teti Office of Thrift Supervision US Department of Treasury
No Photo	1984	Joyce Blakely Paralegal, Environmental Crimes Unit Environmental Enforcement Section Land and Natural Resources Division US Department of Justice
No Photo	1984	Phyllis DePiazza Chief, Disclosure Branch Office of the Secretary US Department of Treasury

Certificate of Appreciation is granted at the discretion of the President of the American Society of Access Professionals.

2012	Scott A. Hodes, Scott A. Hodes Attorney-At-Law - Development of FOIA training program for the D.C. government
2012	Richard L. Huff
	- Board of Directors service, 2009-2012 and related committee work
2012	Dawn Kral, Export- Import Bank of the United States
	- Scholarship Program Panel of Judges
2012	John Livornese, Securities and Exchange Commission
	- Scholarship Program Panel of Judges
2012	Carmen Mallon
	- Board of Directors service as Secretary, 2010-2012 and related committee work
2012	Adam Rappaport, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington - Development of FOIA training program for the D.C. government

Executive Board's Award for Superior Public Service (Former Category)

1984	George P. Cordes, Regional Administrator, General Services Administration,
	Philadelphia, PA

- 1984 Charles Glessner, Regional Director, Archives & Records Service, Philadelphia, PA
- 1984 Dr. Robert Plowman, Regional Archivist, Archives & Records Service, Philadelphia, PA
- 1984 Shawn Aubitz, Archives & Records Service, Philadelphia, PA
- 1984 Judi Malott, Archives & Records Service, Philadelphia, PA
- 1984 Robin Chambers, Archives & Records Service, Philadelphia, PA